Running Forward

Sweet Potato Gnocchi

on October 2, 2011

This dinner far exceeded my expectations. The other day I was in the mood to cook and had a sweet potato begging to be used. So, I gathered up some ingredients and made some sweet potato gnocchi. I kept it in the fridge until tonight when it was devoured. I started by roasting the sweet potato at 400 degrees for an hour. It’s important for the inside of the potato to be super soft so that it easily mixes with the other ingredients. After transferring the sweet potato innards to a bowl I let it cool for a bit before adding the other ingredients. I poured in 1/8 cup of egg beaters, some salt, cinnamon, and probably a little less than half a cup of whole wheat flour.

Next I dropped small balls of the dough into a pot of boiling water. Leave the gnocchi in the water until they float for a few seconds.

Use a slotted spoon to remove the dumplings and immediately place them into an ice bath to stop the cooking.

After they cool off place them onto a paper towel to drain off some of the water. Once my gnocchi was ready, I placed them into a tupperware container layered with paper towels.

Handy, huh? Tonight after work I was ready to eat my creation, so I simply heated up a pan on high and sauteed the little dumplings until they were nice and browned. I chose to serve mine alongside some roasted green beans and cabbage. Quite a nice dinner if I do say so myself. I was a bit nervous about the gnocchi until I bit in. Holy cow! Delicious! They are slightly crispy on the outside while remaining soft and pillowy on the inside. The sweet potato and cinnamon combination went perfectly together. I’ll be making this again for sure.

On another note, I tossed and turned all night then woke up to my alarm at 6:15 am. Why so early? There was a group training run for my upcoming half marathon (in 3 weeks! ah!) and it started at 7 am. I ran 10.5 miles then came home to rest for a bit before heading to work for 5 hours ( on my feet the whole time). Now I’m headed to a friend’s house for a big movie night. To celebrate the beginning of fall, they’re projecting a movie on the outside of their house. How cool! Now I’ve gotta go finish getting ready. Happy 1st day of October!

Leave a Reply

