Running Forward

Butternut Squash Soup

on October 5, 2011

Today is momentous! For the first time this fall I made my butternut squash soup. Yum! Easily one of my top foods. It’s simple, healthy, delicious, filling, and all around perfect.

1 medium butternut squash

1 can chicken broth

oregano

1/4 of an onion

salt to taste

I started off by chopping the ends off the squash and peeling the skin off using a peeler.

Then I simply cut the squash in half and cubed it into bite size pieces. How pretty!

I spread the cubes across a baking sheet and let them roast on 400 for about 40 minutes.

While the squash roasted I sauteed the onion on low heat until they were translucent and starting to become golden. Now, brace yourself for the next part. Take the squash out of the oven (it should be nice and soft) and blend it with all of the other ingredients. Let the mixture bubble on the stove top for a bit and add salt to taste. I’m telling you, this is one of the best recipes to know. It’s easy, super healthy, and will impress your friends. You can easily dress it up with a garnish of homemade croutons or some fresh herbs. I know my picture isn’t pretty, but it sure did taste good.

Leave a Reply

