Running Forward

Pizza Dough

on October 14, 2011

Once again, this week flew by. Only two more weeks until fall break. I keep giving myself pep talks to help me make it the full five weeks without going home. It’s funny how I was in Chicago for eight weeks without getting homesick, yet Athens makes me want to run back to Milton. I guess it’s all about feeling comfortable where you live. Whatever. In other news, I’m hosting a Halloween party with a friend this weekend. I can’t wait! She loves to cook and run just like me, so we’re making it a cooking and running kind of weekend. I already started prepping by making some dough for our bone and blood dish. Here’s a picture from Pinterest:

I’m using my pizza dough recipe for the bones and making roasted red pepper hummus for the blood. I went ahead and made the pizza dough this morning since it takes time to rise. It’s one of those super simple recipes that everyone is scared of. Here’s what I did:

1 cup warm water

1 packet of yeast

pinch of salt

pinch of sugar

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 cups all purpose flour

Start by pouring your warm into a large bowl and add the salt and sugar. Stir until the sugar and salt is mostly dissolved, then add your yeast. Stir the mixture, then let it sit for five minutes to give yeast enough time to do its magic. Once the five minutes is up, add your 1 cup of whole wheat flour and stir until it is well incorporated without any lumps. Then add the 2 cups of all purpose flour and combine. You’ll have to use your hands at this point because it becomes too doughy to stir at this point. Knead the dough for a few minutes to build up the gluten, then simply place the dough into a bowl, cover with a towel, and let it sit in a dry, warm area for about an hour.

After an hour is over, punch that dough down! Then roll it back into a ball and let it sit for another hour and a half. Once you’re ready to use the dough (for pizza, breadsticks, calzones, whatever) simply punch it down and roll it out. Super simple and super easy. Can’t wait to show you all of our final dishes for the party tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

