Running Forward

Halloween Party and Football

on October 17, 2011

Saturday was a busy day made up of running, farmers market exploring, cooking, and Halloween partying. At the farmers market I picked up some Jerusalem artichokes for a school project. But, more on that later. For the Halloween party, I made pizza dough bones with roasted red pepper hummus and toffee cookies. Here’s the spread:

Pizza dough bones with roasted red pepper hummus:

To make the roasted red pepper hummus I simply roasted a red bell pepper in the oven at 350 for about half an hour. Once it cooled, I peeled it and placed it in the food processor with a can of garbanzos, balsamic vinegar, apple cider vinegar, salt, oregano, basil, and some water to thin it out. Super simple!

Here are the toffee cookies. I used a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe, but made a slight change. Instead of creaming the butter and sugar, I melted the butter and sugar over the stove to get a more caramelized flavor. I also used Heath Bar bits instead of chocolate chips.

Lesley and I worked on these cute mummies:

Lesley was the mastermind behind these awesome frankenstein pretzels:

It was great to hang out with some of the ASB girls again. We had such a fun time last year.

Today I went to my first NFL game ever! I love the Falcons, but have only seen their games on TV, so I jumped at the chance to go with one of my favorite guy friends. What a fun day! And I’m super proud of myself for navigating Atlanta.

Leave a Reply

