Running Forward

Bowl of Chili for the Chilly Weather

on October 21, 2011

Fall weather has fallen upon Georgia, and I mean fall all the way down on its face. It’s downright chilly! I actually wore my gloves and a sweatshirt for my morning run. Today’s workout was my last one until the half on Sunday! Can’t wait to cross the finish line!

I had no idea what I wanted for dinner tonight. Of course, I was craving a huge bowl of fresh, juicy fruit, but I don’t have much at the moment. So, I gathered up some random ingredients and a vegetarian chili was born. My first of the season! Here’s the recipe:

half a zucchini

half a yellow squash

quarter of an onion

a few handfuls of frozen spinach

some leftover garbanzo beans

can of diced tomatoes

chili powder

cumin

chipotle pepper powder

salt

oregano

First I sauteed the onion until translucent, before adding the zucchini and squash. Once everything was almost cooked through, I added a few small handfuls of some frozen spinach I picked up the other day. At this point I remembered that I had some garbanzos leftover from my salad the other day, so I tossed those in as well. Stir every few minutes until the spinach completely unthawed. Then add the can of tomatoes and get ready to spice it up! I added a little salt, chipotle, and oregano then got a bit heavy-handed with the chili powder and cumin. But, you need a lot to make it really taste like chili. I let everything simmer until it thickened up and the flavors melded together. Yum! It turned out to be the perfect dinner for a chilly day.

Now I’m enjoying Hocus Pocus and getting ready for my favorite advertising friends to come over. I hear Beetlejuice and homemade cookies are on the agenda.

Leave a Reply

