Running Forward

13.1 Again!

on October 23, 2011

This morning marked the second Athens, Ga half marathon. I ran the inaugural race last year as my first half marathon and loved it. This year I trained, but wasn’t nearly as nervous and anxious as last time and I think it helped. At 5:50 am I started the day by getting dressed and fueling up with a yummy carb breakfast. I’m not a big bread eater, so I didn’t want to buy a whole loaf only to have it go to waste. Therefore, I stole half a hamburger bun from the pantry on my last visit home. I toasted the bun this morning, then topped it with some PB2 and half a banana.

My Pi Phi buddy, Alex, picked me up at around 6:40 and we quickly made our way to the starting line. We tried to hang with the 2 hour pacer, but he was running fast! By the third mile, however, we passed him for good. Our average pace seemed to be 8:30, which is really good for me. I am definitely not a natural runner. Anyway, the miles flew by and we felt great. Side note: during mile 6 Alex’s dad called from Afghanistan and she chatted for a bit while we ran. How cool! Anyway, I felt super strong until we reached mile 11. All of the sudden my lungs started burning and my legs got stiff. Alex pushed ahead while I slowed my pace a bit. I continued to run the entire time, but didn’t push myself as hard. Mile 12 was almost completely uphill, but I conquered it. Soon enough I was at the finish line and I crossed in 1 hour and 56 minutes. So happy that I made my goal of finishing under two hours!

Side note: Check out this article that Alex wrote: http://redandblack.com/2011/10/22/runners-in-athens-half-marathon-race-for-arts-education/

I just got called in to work early, so hopefully I can make it all the way through the day without too much pain. Have a relaxing Sunday!

 

3 responses to “13.1 Again!

  1. Mike says:

    Good Job! Great time!

Leave a Reply

