Running Forward

I’m Back

on November 9, 2011

I just got back from New York this evening and can’t believe all the stuff my dad and I did while we were there. Of course, the highlights were getting to hang with my Uncle and Cousin and talking with Food Network. I’ll be posting about all the fun throughout the week, but am going to rewind a bit for now.

Both of my Friday classes got cancelled (I’m such a lucky duck), so I drove home Thursday night to get ready for the trip. My brother’s football game was that night, so I needed to make a dinner that could be made in advance and easily reheated. I ran across a recipe for healthy moussaka a while back and took on the challenge of making a vegetarian version. It had many different steps and took quite a while to make, but was worth it in the end.

3 small eggplants

1 zucchini

1 bell pepper

1 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt

about 1 pint of button mushrooms

half an onion

chopped garlic

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon pepper

2 cans diced tomatoes

1 teaspoon dried oregano

a few grates of asiago cheese

1 egg (I used Eggbeaters)

I started by slicing eggplant and zucchini then baking them at 350 for about 15 minutes, or until tender.

In the meantime, I sauteed the onion with the cinnamon, salt, nutmeg, and pepper until translucent. I then added the chopped mushrooms and bell pepper and let it cook until the mushrooms were browned.

Add the diced tomatoes and oregano and let the mixture simmer for about 45 minutes, stirring occasionally.

While the tomato mixture cooks, mix together the yogurt, egg, and cheese.

Once everything is ready, the fun can begin! Line the bottom of a baking dish with half of the eggplant and zucchini slices. Then use half the tomato mixture to cover the layer. Repeat with the remaining ingredients. Lastly, top it all with the yogurt and bake at 400 until the top starts to bubble and brown. Sadly, I failed to get a photo of the final product, so here’s the picture of my inspiration recipe. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

