Running Forward

1st Night in NY and Straciatella

on November 10, 2011

I’ll start with the recipe since it was super simple. My stomach has been acting funky for a few days, so I just wanted something basic for dinner. Cue the straciatella. It’s basically the italian form of egg drop soup. I first had it in London in possibly one of the best Italian restaurants I’ve ever been to. This soup is light and is great for sick days. Or any other day. Whatever floats your boat.

1 can chicken broth

1 egg (I used eggbeaters)

pinch of salt

sprinkle of parmesan cheese

sprinkle of flour

Bring the broth to a boil. While waiting for it to heat up, combine the egg, salt, cheese, and flour in a small bowl. Once the broth is boiling, slowly pour the egg mixture into the soup while constantly stirring quickly. That’s it! Simple and delicious!

Now onto the New York. My dad and I checked into our hotel Saturday afternoon and discovered that Batman was being filmed on the street where the entrance is located. There was fake snow everywhere from the shoot. The security people gave us permission to walk through the set so that we could get to the hotel.

We threw out stuff into the room and immediately headed over to the 9/11 memorial. Occupy Wall Street was right in the middle of our walk, so we took a nice detour through the tents. It’s turned into more of a hobo flea market than a real protest. Still cool to see it in person though.

Only a few more blocks and we were at the memorial. My dad and I both agree that it’s absolutely beautiful. I was unsure of the plans when I first heard them, but they were executed perfectly. There’s a fountain in the footprint of each tower and the border of the fountains contains an inscription of all the victims’ names.

The new Freedom Tower is still being built, but it’s already breath-taking. I’ll let the picture do the talking.

For dinner we made our way to Little Italy and ate at Paesano’s, where we ate on our last NYC trip! I ordered mussels marinara while my dad ate chicken a la Joey. Both were delicious. We ended the night with an espresso and cookies from Ferrara. My dad is such a cookie-holic! Day 2 will come tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

