Running Forward

Breadfruit

on November 19, 2011

Normally it takes me 1/5-2 hours to get home from school. On Friday it took me 3.5 hours. Ridiculous, right?! By the time I reached the H Mart, an Asian market I pass on the way, I needed a break. I bought Shitake mushrooms, breadfruit, Korean sweet potatoes, bok choy, and two live lobsters. I had heard about breadfruit before, but never tried it. Supposedly, it tastes like fresh bread. Couldn’t be bad, right? Today at lunch I anxiously butchered the fruit and roasted it in the oven for 45 minutes. I forgot to take a picture of it in its whole form, but here are the pieces:

My brother and I bravely tasted a piece. Not so good. Once again, I try a new fruit and it barely has any flavor. I’m sure it would taste better if cooked with other ingredients, but I won’t be buying anymore breadfruit in the near future.

Leave a Reply

