Running Forward

Banana Bread and Lobster

on November 20, 2011

Of course, I was the first one in the house up yesterday morning at 7 am. As soon as I walked into the kitchen I noticed the abundant amount of overripe bananas just begging to be baked into bread. After I made myself a blueberry smoothie I got to work on the bread. My usual recipe is in my apartment at school, so I had to come up with one from scratch. It turned out really moist and cake-like. I’m writing down the recipe from my memory, so let’s see if I can do it.

3 overripe bananas

1 egg (I used Eggbeaters)

1/2 cup milk

1/2 plain nonfat Greek yogurt

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1 1/4 cup all purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup ground flax seeds

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

semisweet chocolate chips (optional- you could use raisins, walnuts, peanut butter chips, etc.)

Preheat the oven to 350. Mash the bananas until only small lumps remain. Add the egg and mix until well blended. Add the remaining wet ingredients and combine. Next, add in the dry ingredients and stir until the dough is smooth. Lastly, fold in the chocolate chips. Pour the batter into a greased loaf pan and bake for 35 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. It’s best when eaten right out of the oven!

Unfortunately, my mom got sick with food poisoning so I made her some white rice for dinner while my dad and I enjoyed the lobsters. I have to say, cooking the lobsters was quite scary this time. I hate killing creatures, even if it is just a crustacean. At least they tasted delicious!

 

Leave a Reply

