Running Forward

Almost There

on December 2, 2011

The semester is so close to the end. I just have a presentation on Monday and Tuesday, then I’m free to go home for Christmas on Wednesday! Luckily, I’m working both days this weekend and am working out each morning. But first, tonight I’m having a Christmas movie night with some friends. The cookies are out of the oven and the movie is set to go!

For dinner I roasted a spaghetti squash with some chopped eggplant. While those cooked, I sauteed a quarter of an onion then threw it in the blender with a can of diced tomatoes and some spices. I like the sauce to be a bit hearty, so I didn’t blend it all the way. I let it simmer on the stove for a bit while the eggplant and squash cooled. Once everything was ready, I turned off the stove and added the spaghetti squash strands and eggplant to the sauce. This is the secret! You have to mix it all together in the pot so that the sauce coats everything. You’re supposed to use this method with pasta too. And I know! I’m Italian, so you can trust me. This dinner was delicious and was the perfect amount of food. Let the weekend commence!

On another note: I’m running another half marathon in February! It will be my first trail run.

2 responses to “Almost There

  1. msperfectpatty says:

    Good luck! My semester ends week after next lucky you for getting out so soon! I hate having to do presentations at the end of the semester but it’s a necessary evil I guess.

  2. kpurpura says:

    Thanks! I really lucked out with no finals this year.

Leave a Reply

