Running Forward

Cornbread and Spin Class

on December 19, 2011

Every year during Christmas break I give my running shoes a rest and get a month long membership at my favorite gym, Atlanta Fitness. They have a good deal for students that includes all of the classes. I’ve tried a few different ones, but my favorite is spin class. Usually the music is great and the workout leaves me feeling tired and sore. Even though I plan on running another half marathon in February, my body needs a break from the usually running routine.

On another note, my family had our annual Christmas dinner with my uncle and his wife last night. I had to work for most of the day, so I whipped up some cornbread in the morning before I left. I modified a recipe that I found online and it ended up being the moistest cornbread I’ve ever tasted. Everyone loved it. The salsa monterey jack cheese also gave it a bit of a kick.

Kicked Up Cornbread

1 cup cornmeal

1 cup flour

1/4 cup sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

pinch of salt

1 cup milk

2 eggs

1/2 stick butter, melted

1/2- 3/4 cups shredded salsa monterey jack cheese

Preheat the oven to 400. Mix the dry ingredients together until combined. Add all of the wet ingredients and mix everything together. Pour the batter into a greased dish and bake for about 20 minutes, or until cooked through.

I didn’t even think about taking a picture, but it was definitely delicious. This morning I have a day off of work, but am actually driving down to Turner Classic Movies to meet their advertising team. I love exploring my field!

Leave a Reply

