Running Forward

Chicken Noodle Soup

on December 22, 2011

My dad makes the best chicken noodle soup in the world and that’s a fact. Over the years I closely watched him work his magic in the kitchen in hopes that I too would one day become a soup master. He came down with a cold this week, which meant yesterday was the perfect time to try out my chicken noodle skills. I arrived home from work, went to the gym, then rushed to the store to get my missing ingredients. Egg noodles. Check. Chicken broth. Check. Chicken. Not quite. I got up to the register and realized that the chicken breast was actually $9. I looked at the wrong price. Oh well. I would still make chicken noodle soup somehow.

Chicken Noodle Soup

5 stalks of celery

4 carrots

poultry seasoning

pepper

large can of chicken stock

3 cups water

egg noodles

barley

already cooked chicken breast (I used leftover chicken from the night before)

parmesan cheese

oregano

Start by browning the chopped carrots and celery in the soup pot with some pepper and poultry seasoning. Once the veggies are soft, add the chicken broth, water, egg noodles, and barley. Let the mixture come up to a slow boil, then lower the heat down to just keep it warm. Chop the leftover chicken and add it to the soup with a few sprinkles of parmesan cheese and oregano. It’s great to make a big batch so that you have the leftovers throughout the week.

I made my eggnog poundcake for work last week and have been wanting to bake something else ever since. So, tonight I tried an almond lime glaciers recipe except I used clementine zest instead of lime zest. Still turned out yummy, and I got a picture too!

 

Leave a Reply

