Running Forward

Peppermint Bark

on December 23, 2011

I finally had a free morning today. After making a delicious smoothie and downing two cups of black coffee I ran to the gym for spin class. It flew by today! I’m going to another one tomorrow, so let’s all hope I’ll be able to walk on Christmas day. I also ran a few errands, then had a few extra minutes of time. Of course, I cooked. My mom has been talking about peppermint bark for quite a few days now, so I took it upon myself to whip up a batch. Let me just say, this is one of the easiest things to make. It’s just a level above cereal.

Peppermint Bark

1 bag semisweet chocolate chips

1 bag white chocolate chips

1 pack of candy canes, crushed

First, lay out a large piece of wax paper. Next, melt the semisweet chocolate. I used the microwave, but any method will do. Simply spread the chocolate into a thin layer on the wax paper. Wait for it to dry, then add the melted white chocolate chips on top. Before the chocolate melts, sprinkle the candy cane pieces over the top. Lightly press the pieces into the chocolate to make sure they stick. Then all you have to do is use your self control to let the chocolate dry. Once finished, simply break apart the chocolate and serve in a pretty dish.

Finally, I have two days off! Spin class and Christmas Eve dinner with friends tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

