Running Forward

Long Weekend

on January 16, 2012

I love having long weekends, but it came too early in the semester this year. We only had one week of class under our belts and then we have some time off again. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining per se, but it would have been nice to postpone our Monday off. Luckily, it was a great weekend and started off on Friday night with my best friends. The three of us watched Pride and Prejudice while doing our nails and enjoying each other’s company. I drove home on Saturday morning, ran errands with my mom, and made my tortilla soup.  Unfortunately, the peppers were a bit hot this time, so nobody ended up eating the soup until it mellowed out the next day. Oh well, all chefs have failures at some point. Oops, I almost forgot: my mom talked me into making this horrifying creation. Mac ‘n Cheese Pizza. It’s against everything I’ve ever believed. You start with pizza crust, add sour cream, top it with cooked macaroni, then sprinkle generous amounts of cheese on top. Bake it on high until it’s nice and bubbly. I’m still waiting for the health police to knock on my door with arrest warrants in hand.

On Sunday my mom, brother, and I went to the outlets. For dinner my dad used some of the cool ingredients I picked up at H Mart (3 different types of mushrooms, yam noodles, etc.). I definitely have a mushroom obsession. But on another note, the yam noodles were really good. They have zero calories (how is that even possible?) and soak up whatever sauce you cook them in. I sipped on my corn silk tea to round out my Asian night.

On a happy note, my knee has been feeling a lot better, so I’m starting to ease myself back into running. My mom and I went on a 2.5 mile walk on Sunday that started with a mile jog. Today I ran 2 miles on the treadmill. I’ll probably try running outside next weekend. Until then, I’m going to keep going to the gym and working on less stress-causing equipment. Let the week begin!

Leave a Reply

