Running Forward

Just Like Giada

on January 21, 2012

What a lazy, rainy day it’s been. My Saturday started with an early workout and a semi-family lunch at the Last Resort. Love that place! I ordered the Southwestern Grazer salad, which is a bed of romaine topped with tomatoes, cucumbers, corn and black bean relish, carrots, and avocado. Delicious! The rest of the afternoon was spent cooking, studying, and cleaning. For dinner I decided to put together some vegetarian chili. I made it for my mom last time I was home and haven’t been able to get it out of my head. The thunderstorms outside convinced me that it truly was meant to be a chili night. I cranked up the Pavarotti Pandora station and cooked myself a giant pot of comfort

Vegetarian Chili

1/4 onion

1/2 eggplant

1 sweet potato

1 squash

1 bell pepper

1 cup mushrooms

small handful of seitan

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

2 cans diced tomatoes

chili powder

ground cumin

salt

pepper

I always start by sautéing the onion and adding the sweet potato shortly after. Once the onions are translucent I add the vegetables in the order that they take to cook. You can use whatever you have on hand, so I listed my inventory above. I also like to add corn and zucchini when I have them. Once all of the vegetables are cooked, add the seitan and spices to taste. I always add the chili powder and cumin until the chili taste is strong enough for me. I also add in other spices like oregano and blackened seasoning when I have them. Add the tomatoes and black beans, then stir the mixture together and let it simmer for about 20 minutes. The flavors will meld together and you’ll be left with a comforting bowl of chili that is also great for you!

Before digging into my bowl of chili, I had a small salad as an appetizer.

Finally, the star of the show:

My laundry is almost done and my homework is complete. I have an exciting week ahead of me, which means I’ll hopefully have some good stuff to post later.  😉

Leave a Reply

