Running Forward

Apple+Caffeine+Nerves=Not Good

on January 26, 2012

I neglected my blog this week due to way too much random stuff on my mind. I guess I’ll start by explaining this post’s title. I ate an apple on Tuesday. Last semester I made the decision to give up apples because I noticed that they made me feel sick. Cooking the apple first, though, seemed to be okay. I was running low on food and needed a snack, so I baked an apple.

On Wednesday I had a big interview that was originally scheduled at 11 am. I was SUPER nervous, so I decided to set a relaxing tone by treating myself to a Starbucks and grabbing a table outside to have some privacy (it was a phone interview). I guzzled down my coffee and then received a call saying that the interview needed to be pushed back to 5 pm. No problem. Except the nerves kept building themselves up throughout the day. Between the apple, my sensitivity to caffeine, and the nerves I felt so nauseated all day. On top of feeling so sick, the caffeine kept me up all night which resulted in only sleeping from 2:45 am to 4:30 am. Bright side: I pretty much finished my current book. I stuck with cereal and almond milk for my next few meals and finally felt brave enough to munch on some veggies for dinner.

Cauliflower was on sale at Kroger, so I took inspiration from this recipe to create cauliflower fried rice. I started by sauteeing some frozen broccoli, yellow squash, zucchini, and cauliflower greens (the leafy parts around the actual cauliflower) with some blackened seasoning and pepper until everything was cooked. Meanwhile, I added the cauliflower to my food processor and blended until the pieces were chopped very finely. I added the cauliflower to the pan and drizzled soy sauce over everything. I gave it a few minutes to cook while stirring every once in a while. The resulting product tasted just like fried rice! I definitely want to try the paella version next time I’m home and have the ingredients.

One response to “Apple+Caffeine+Nerves=Not Good

  1. […] milk, and pickles. Thank goodness I’m going to the store tomorrow. For dinner tonight I made cauliflower fried rice again using chopped onion, yellow squash, broccoli, chicken broth, and soy sauce. Of course, it […]

Leave a Reply

