Running Forward

Home Again

on February 4, 2012

Finally made it home for the weekend. Let me start off by saying I cannot wait for the Super Bowl tomorrow! Too excited. When I got home yesterday afternoon I pretty much spent all my time in the kitchen. First I made a batch of biscotti since my parents always request it. I used the usual recipe, but swapped out pistachios for the pecans. Then I made my brother’s dinner (yes, my mom still makes him a separate dinner because he doesn’t care for vegetables). Wanting to make him some true comfort food, I threw together a quick buffalo chicken mac ‘n cheese. I first melted butter into a sauce pan then added a sprinkling of flour. I immediately had to add some milk and stirred it until the misture was smooth. Then I poured shredded cheese until it was melted and had turned into a thick, creamy sauce. I added some pepper and other seasonings before adding some chicken meat. Luckily, there was a lonely 3/4 eaten cornish hen in the fridge, so I used the drumsticks and thighs for the dinner. I added the chicken and a few squirts of buffalo wing sauce to the cheese. Next, toss in your pasta. I used penne, but anything works. Lastly, I poured it into a baking dish, sprinkled some breadcrumbs on top and stuck it in the oven. Success.

Next, I had to come up with a dinner for my parents and I. After surveying the fridge and pantry, I decided to make a sort of vegan lasagna. I started by steaming a head of cauliflower and pureeing it to create a sort of cheese. Next I sliced up an eggplant, and some small zucchinis and baked them on 400 for 10 minutes. The third and final step: I sauteed an onion in a sauce pan until translucent then added some chopped button mushrooms. I pureed two cans of diced tomatoes and added them to the pan. It’s important to let it simmer away for quite some time in order for the tomatoes to get sweeter and for the sauce to thicken. After about 30 minutes it was time to assemble. I started with a little sauce, then added a layer of eggplant and zucchini. Next I added the cheese then more eggplant and zucchini. I repeated until the ingredients were gone. So delicious! My dad especially loved it!

This post is getting long, so I’ll go ahead and end it. Tomorrow I’ll be posting about beer cupcakes, chocolate meringue cookies, and more Super Bowl treats.

Leave a Reply

