Running Forward

My True Love

on February 22, 2012

I’m a foodie, so it kind of makes sense that I fell in love with a grocery store, right? Ok, good. Today my dear love, Aldi, gave me quite a few deals to be happy about. My fridge was literally empty (except for some plain yogurt and baking soda), so I planned to take a quick trip to Aldi after work to stock up. I kept tossing stuff into my cart hoping that I wouldn’t go too far over my budget. I hesitantly  waited for the cashier to tell me my final total. $19.77! In order for my excitement to really be explained, I’m actually going to list out everything that I bought. Whoever says that eating healthy is too expensive doesn’t know how to truly shop.

  • bag of 3 romaine hearts
  • baby bella mushrooms
  • can of black beans
  • chicken broth
  • Cheerios
  • pickles
  • can of beets
  • 3 large broccoli crowns
  • 5 bananas
  • head of cauliflower
  • 5 tomatoes on the vine
  • 9 navel oranges
  • a giant stalk of celery
  • balsamic vinegar
  • 2 pounds of red grapes

15 items for under twenty dollars. I don’t think that’s bad at all! So, until a boyfriend enters my life (which doesn’t seem likely based on my past record) Aldi will keep my heart and wallet full.

Leave a Reply

