Running Forward

Just the Usual

on February 29, 2012

Not very much excitement this week except for one thing: my dad has his appointment at Duke on Tuesday. He flies there every two months so that they can read his latest MRI. Good news- the MRI is clean! He doesn’t have to fly up again until the end of June. Hard to believe I’ll be in NYC by then!

Lately, all I’ve been able to think about is this summer. I can’t wait to be in the city, meet new people, and find out what it’s really like to work at Food Network. In fact, I would be more than happy just to be locked in Chelsea Market for the entire 8 week period. I’m hoping to get the opportunity to help in different types of projects so that I can learn as much as possible. I’m also hoping to meet a lot of people; famous and not-so-famous. There are a bunch of behind-the-scenes employees that I would love to sit in a meeting with. I know I have to concentrate on school for now, so I’m using my internship as motivation to study for my advertising classes. In fact, I have my first midterm tomorrow. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

In other news, I made the decision to go home this weekend because my previous plans got cancelled last minute. I’m definitely bummed that the original plans didn’t work out, but that’s life for ya. At least I’ll have the opportunity to go to my brother’s baseball game and to go to a friend’s wedding shower. There’s always a silver lining lurking somewhere. Plus, I’m dying to cook some of my favorite dishes that are too large to cook a single portion of. For example, my dad already requested Manhattan Clam Chowder for Friday night (appropriate recipe name, huh?). Soup is probably one of my favorite things to make, but it’s difficult  when I’m at school. First of all, I’m cooking one portion at a time. Secondly, I have practically no storage space. I await the day that I come home to a spacious kitchen full of counter space. I plan on living in New York after graduation, though, so that day is probably far off, haha. Time for me to get back to studying.

I’ve been to NYC countless times, but would love suggestions on hidden gems that I must visit or fantastic (and cheap) restaurants to try. Any tips?

Leave a Reply

