Running Forward

Mushroom Lettuce Wraps

on March 1, 2012

Today was wonderful! I definitely think my mood is directly correlated with the weather. Yesterday’s dreary surroundings gave me the blues, but today’s sunshine made everything go right. Thursdays are one of my busy days where I stay on campus until 5. Unfortunately, I woke up nervous about the midterm in my first class, so I decided to go for a quick run to calm down. It left me in a bit of a hurry to shower and get ready for the day, but at least my workout was done. It also helped that I packed my lunch last night while making dinner. Anyway, the midterm went really well (I think)! After my second class, I met one of my best friends downtown at a table she snagged in front of some coffee shops. I ate my lunch while we chatted, then enjoyed reading more of The Help for about an hour. In the middle of my reading, I received an exciting phone call. I don’t think I can give details online, but it definitely added to my wonderful day.

We didn’t get much work time during my last class due to some presentations, so I stayed until 6 pm to finish up some research. The walk back home was perfect! The sun was just starting to set and the air was cool and breezy. Why can’t the weather be like this everyday? Now, to the food! I’m going home tomorrow, so I had some random veggies to use up: one portabella, 3 romaine leaves, broccoli, cauliflower. I simply steamed the broccoli and cauliflower, but decided to be more creative with the mushroom and lettuce. I sliced the mushroom and sauteed it with some fajita seasonings. I then used the lettuce leaves as a wrap. So good! Next time I want to try to add more toppings to make it like a taco. Here’s a pic of the meal. I also had some PB2 and cereal on the side for some protein.

Tomorrow should be an easy day (and includes a trip to H Mart!), so I’m just taking it easy tonight and playing around on the laptop. Looking forward to the weekend!

Leave a Reply

