Running Forward

Lotus Root and Other Asian Gems

on March 6, 2012

On my way home last Friday I took a quick tour by stopping at H Mart to pick up some things. I love exploring the produce section for new ingredients that I’ve never cooked with before. This trip I bought taro, lotus root, yam cake, corn silk tea, oyster mushrooms, and a few other things. I planned on making a stir fry with everything for my family, but we went to a wedding shower on Saturday and then my parents wanted sushi on Sunday, so I brought everything back to Athens with me. On Sunday we also went to the dollar theater in Marietta to watch Sherlock Holmes 2, which was okay. We all agreed that they should have cut the movie down to make it shorter. On our way home we stopped by a really cute French market on Canton Street. I’ll have to go there again sometime to by some cheeses.

Yesterday for lunch I used some of my H Mart ingredients to make a quick stir fry. First I peeled and thinly sliced the lotus root. You have to let it sit in vinegar water as soon as you cut it in order to take out some of the bitterness. Next, I sliced part of an onion and sauteed it while I chopped the oyster mushrooms. After the onions and mushrooms were almost finished, I added the lotus root and cooked until brown. While everything was cooking, I opened the package of yam cake. Normally, I buy the noodle version, but the block was cheaper, so i decided to try to cut my own noodles from it, which worked pretty well. This stuff is pretty cool because it has zero calories and adds a fun element to the stir fry. Once everything was in the pan, I added soy sauce and sauteed until the flavors blended together. Conclusion: Lotus root is delicious! It reminds me a lot of water chestnuts because of its crispy texture and mild flavor. I’m definitely making it for my family next week when I’m home for spring break.

Time to get through the week!

Leave a Reply

