Running Forward

Finally Sleepy

on March 11, 2012

I don’t know what is up with my body, but I’ve been unable to fall asleep until 2 am for the past two nights. On top of that, I’m still getting up at 7 am on the dot. I love having more time, but it caught up with me today. I figured out that I can’t drink caffeine at all, so today I went without my morning cup o’ joe and am feeling a good night’s sleep coming my way. Now onto the fun stuff!

Yesterday afternoon my family went to Whole Foods to watch the “Crack Heard Round the World”. The main event involved two 75 pound wheels of parmesan being cracked into, and the store featured countless samples involved the delicious ingredient. Both wheels came from a small farm near Modena and were aged for 24 months (twice the average time). Here are some photos from the event:

Last night I watched 50/50  with my parents, which we all loved. I definitely recommend watching it to understand what it’s like to go through a serious illness. This morning began with a quick baking session to make some biscotti for my mom. She’s been requesting it for quite a while, so I finally gave in. Then we made our way to the mall for some internship clothes. My mom and I store-hopped, but finally found luck at Ann Taylor. Let me just say, I am in love with this store now! The employees were extremely friendly and helpful without being pushy, and the clothes fit me so well. I left with two skirts and a cute top. I finished today with a run (with Daisy!), some yardwork, and a delicious dinner.

I roasted a spaghetti squash and made a tomato and eggplant sauce to top it off. I also made some penne with bolognese sauce for my brother. For the sauce I simply sauteed half of a chopped onion and some minced garlic until translucent, then added one chopped eggplant. Once the eggplant started browning, I added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato sauce. Of course, I threw in a bunch of spices and let it simmer away for about an hour while the squash cooked. This is my kind of comfort food!

2 responses to “Finally Sleepy

  1. MichaelEdits says:

    I live in a land which does not have Whole Foods. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

