Running Forward

Coffee in the Afternoon

on March 15, 2012

So far my spring break has been pretty great. Even though I’m just spending my time at home it’s nice not worrying about class or thinking about studying. Instead, I’ve cooked, gone running, and watched some new movies. On Tuesday my dad and I did chores and ran errands together before my brother’s baseball game. We also worked together on cornish hens with roasted veggies for dinner. Roasted vegetables might just be one of my favorite foods.

Last night I had complete dinner duty, so I made citrus salmon with cauliflower rice paella. I thawed out two frozen salmon filets and marinated them in lemon juice, orange juice, oregano, basil, thyme, and a pinch of salt. I made a foil packet and baked them for 30 minutes on 400. For the paella I used the same technique as my cauliflower fried rice, but first sauteed a chopped onion, green bell pepper, and celery. After the vegetables were cooked through, I added artichokes, sliced green olives, and some spices. Next, I added the cauliflower and a splash of chicken stock. Once the liquid cooked down, I added a can of diced tomatoes and allowed the mixture to simmer for a few minutes. So delicious!

I’m thankful for the nice weather because I’ve been able to get outside and run quite a bit. And the best part? Barely any knee pain! Time to go out to dinner with the family.

Leave a Reply

