Running Forward

An Irish Feast

on March 18, 2012

Last night we had some neighbors over for a St. Patrick’s Day party. It was my first time being home for the holiday since high school, so I was pretty excited. We’ve always done something fun to celebrate, so I was happy to finally get the chance to participate again. Of course, we decorated the house in green decor and cooked up a couple pots of corned beef, cabbage, and potatoes.

I spent Friday afternoon baking in the kitchen. I started out with blueberry muffins to bring to my grandmother and my high school english teacher. I used this recipe, but changed up the yogurt. I added a 6 ounce container of blueberry yogurt and then added about half a cup more of plain nonfat yogurt. Also, I didn’t add an entire cup of frozen blueberries, I just added a couple handfuls. The muffins turned out moist and beautifully purple. Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture, but just imagine beautiful pastel purple muffins.

Next up I made Irish soda bread, but had to make a few changes. I didn’t have any buttermilk on hand, so I used regular skim milk and added a touch of lemon juice. The dough also turned out a bit wet, so I added some whole wheat flour until it was a better consistency. I had never eaten Irish soda bread before, so I didn’t quite know what to expect. The final product turned out moist and  slightly sweet. Perfect to accompany the party table.

Lastly, I baked Guinness cupcakes with an Irish cream frosting. I used this recipe for the cake, but made up my own frosting using cream cheese, powdered sugar, Irish cream, and coffee. The method was new to me, but worked very well. And the batter was so freaking delicious. I had to use some major self control in order to not eat half the batter straight from the bowl.

It was a great night with great friends and delicious food. Now I have to get myself mentally prepared for six more weeks of class. So close, but yet so far! I don’t know how I’m going to make it through with all the anticipation for New York. I dream about Food Network every night. Not even kidding. It’s slightly concerning, but oh well.

Leave a Reply

