Running Forward

Cake and Squash

on April 4, 2012

Busy day: running, class, work, cooking up a storm. Just a day in the life.  By the way, why is running always so much more difficult when the weather starts getting hotter. This week my legs have felt like lead and I’m out of breath as soon as I start. Odd. Anyway, I finally got out of my cooking rut and made something for dinner other than a salad with steamed veggies. I made stuffed squash and it was delicious, if I do say so myself. Here’s the recipe:

Stuffed Yellow Squash

2 large yellow squashes

1/4 an onion

1/2 cup tomato sauce

salt, oregano, basil

1 egg white

Start by cutting the squash in half from top to bottom and remove the seed area to create a sort of bowl. Keep the scooped out squash pieces and place them to the side. Place each squash half on a baking sheet and preheat the oven to 375. Finely chop the onion and saute until translucent. Finely chop the extra squash pieces and add them to the saucepan with the onion. At this point  add the seasonings and keep cooking until most of the water has evaporated out. Add the tomato sauce and allow to thicken for a few minutes. Turn off the heat and allow the mixture to cool for a few minutes. Quickly stir in the egg white, then spoon the mixture back inside the squash “bowls”. Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until squash is tender.

The egg white worked as a great binder and gave the mixture more of a meat-like consistency. I made myself a salad as the side dish. While the squash baked in the oven, I got to work on my strawberry cake with lemon cream cheese frosting.

Strawberry Cake

1/2 cup butter (softened)

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs

2 egg whites

3/4 cups plain yogurt

1/4 cup almond milk

2 1/4 cups flour

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

1 cup strawberries

2 drops red food coloring

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

      Preheat the oven to 350. First cream together the butter and sugar. Next, add the two eggs and beat until combined. Add one egg white at a time and beat until fluffy. Next, alternate adding the dry ingredients and the yogurt and almond milk. Once everything is combined, puree the strawberries and add them to the batter along with the food coloring and vanilla extract. Bake for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

     The batter tasted delicious! I easily could have eaten it with a spoon and ditched the oven altogether. But, I want my friends to have some cake to enjoy with dinner tomorrow, so I used my self control. I made frosting using cream cheese, powdered sugar, vanilla extract, lemon zest, and lemon juice. I didn’t measure, so the proportions are a bit of a mystery. I’ll post a picture of it tomorrow! I hope you have dreams as sweet as strawberry cake!

Leave a Reply

