Running Forward

Birthday Parmigiana

on April 21, 2012

When my parents decorated my room for my birthday a few weeks ago, they put together a little basket of goodies for my nightstand. It included my favorite fruits, flavored vodka minis, and a wedge of fresh parmesan cheese. So, I was really excited to make some lasagna and healthified eggplant parm last night. But, I couldn’t find the  cheese anywhere when I gathered the ingredients. Turned out, my parents ate all of my birthday cheese without me. Oh well. Dinner turned out fabulous anyway.

Healthified Eggplant Parmesan

2 eggplants

Homemade tomato sauce (crushed tomatoes, diced tomatoes, onion, celery, portobello mushroom, Italian herbs & spices, balsamic vinegar, pinch of sugar)

Plain nonfat yogurt

Parmesan Cheese (fresh is best, but I only had the shaker kind)

Egg Beaters

Fresh tomatoes (optional)

I started by making the tomato sauce and letting it cook for about 1.5 hours. While the sauce simmered away, I peeled and sliced the eggplant and placed on a baking dish. Bake for about 10 minutes on each side on 400 degrees. Next, I mixed some yogurt with a splash of eggbeaters and some parmesan cheese. Lastly, layer everything! Start with the sauce and place a dollop of the yogurt mixture on each layer of eggplant. Top it off with sliced tomatoes and some more parmesan. Keep refrigerated until you’re ready to cook. This dinner was so delicious that we all stuffed ourselves silly. At least it was all good for us.

Here’s a pic of the lasagna. It’s a typical lasagna recipe, so I won’t explain everything, except I did use ground turkey instead of beef.

This morning I had to wake up early in order to make it to Atlanta for my sorority’s Founder’s Day. It’s always neat seeing the older Pi Phis who are still good friends with each other. And the venue this year was BEAUTIFUL! Right next to Piedmont Park in the heart of Midtown. Lunch was kind of odd, but the fruit plate dessert and coffee redeemed everything. I love my Pi Phi friends!

Leave a Reply

