Running Forward

Not Like Me

on May 3, 2012

Please forgive me for what I am about to say. I deep-fried something last night. I don’t know exactly what went through my mind as I decided to pour a bottle of vegetable oil into a pot with the intention of making something edible. Are you now wondering what I fried? Veggie dogs. My brother is an extremely active 16 year old who needs to keep up his calories, so my healthy eggplant parm wouldn’t cut it for his dinner (also, he isn’t a vegetable fan). So, I explored some recipe sites online and decided to make him corn dogs, one of his favorite childhood treats. However, we only had veggie dogs. I figured that by the time I covered them in batter and deep fried them, he wouldn’t notice. Luckily, he loved them! Even when I told him they weren’t real hot dogs.

Corn Dog Bites

3/4 cups flour

3/4 cups yellow cornmeal

1/8 cup egg beaters

1/2 cup milk

1/8 cup sugar

salt

pepper

a few drops of lemon juice

3 veggie dogs (or hot dogs) cut into thirds

vegetable oil

Simply mix the dry ingredients, add the wet ingredients, then whisk until smooth and fairly thick. Heat the oil to 360 degrees then drop the hot dog pieces into the batter. Be sure each piece is coated well, then drop them one-at-a-time into the fryer. Let cook until the outside is golden brown.

    I made these earlier in the day while my brother was still at football, so I simply stuck them in the fridge and reheated them in the oven when he was ready to eat. They were a big hit!

Leave a Reply

