Running Forward

Birthday Boy

on May 20, 2012

My dad’s birthday is coming up, so we had his special dinner tonight to celebrate! I started the day with a workout at the gym, then lunch with two of my best friends! I should have gotten a picture of the three of us, but instead I took this:

We ate at Cheeky, and I ordered the Mexican Cobb Salad which was delicious. Afterwards I drove to H Mart to pick up three beautiful lobsters for my dad’s dinner. I LOVE this store! They always have so many interesting samples. In fact, I can now say that I’ve eaten pig feet. Yep, that’s right. Pig feet.

    When I arrived home, my mom was in the driving giving Daisy a bath, and I just couldn’t resist a picture. Poor dog.

Lobster!

Then cake! I promised you orange cake, and now I’ll follow through. I used this recipe, but changed a few things. I added a few drops of orange extract and only used 1/2 a cup of buttermilk. I also added 1/4 cup of concentrated orange juice. I didn’t use the icing recipe either. Instead I used  a combination of cream cheese, butter, powdered sugar, concentrated orange juice, orange extract, and food coloring. For the filling I used the icing and added a thin layer of apricot jam. The cake had a subtle orange flavor while the icing tasted like a creamsicle. Here are some pics from the rest of the night:

My gift was a big hit! I got my dad a phone attachment for his iPhone since his little headphones always get tangled.

Happy early birthday, Dad!!! 🙂

2 responses to “Birthday Boy

  1. thatbunnie says:

    Daisy is so adorable!! Squirting eyes and all.

Leave a Reply

