Running Forward

First Week: Complete

on June 2, 2012

It’s hard to believe my first week here in the city is already coming to a close. So far I’m loving my internship and loving this place. Though, at work yesterday morning a lot of people heard an explosion and suddenly there were sirens, firetrucks, and police cars rushing around next to our building. We all ran to the windows to figure out what happened. Apparently, there was a bit of an explosion in the building right next to us. Here’s the news story. Pretty crazy. My dad’s friend, a battalion chief for the NYFD, actually called him at work to see if I had said anything about it.

I also learned more about my department and am excited to say that it just keeps getting better and better. I’m also getting much more comfortable with the office. I know where most things are and can navigate pretty well. I just need to get my morning routine down. Yesterday I woke up at 5:30 am because I wanted to run before work. I ran a quick 2 miles on the treadmill in my dorm’s fitness room, then I showered and ate breakfast. I had plenty of time, so I then walked the 1.5 miles to work and I still arrived 45 minutes early. I want to be early everyday, but that’s a bit much, so I’ll probably give myself some more time to sleep in.

After work I was pretty exhausted and the weather turned gloomy. Originally, I was going to meet up with Margaret at the East River, but the wind picked up and rain clouds threatened to pour down any second. Instead she came to my dorm and we ate in the student lounge. We shared the remainder of a Jacques Torres chocolate chip cookie that I had leftover from work. It was delicious! The cookie contained so much chocolate and was huge.

Today I plan on going for a run and exploring the city some more. Perhaps I’ll go to Chinatown? I’m mainly excited for tonight because I’ll get to see my northern family again for my cousin’s graduation party. Great way to end a great week.

Leave a Reply

