Running Forward

Whirlwind Weekend

on June 10, 2012

This weekend completely flew by! After work on Friday I made my way to Mulberry Street for a friend’s birthday dinner. The streets were crowded with people and the scent of marinara sauce and sweet garlic filled the air.

My dad and I always eat at Paesanos, so the group met there. Poor Margaret got herself caught in a Milton High reunion.

The birthday girl met up with her roommate after dinner, and the rest of us searched for a place to hang out for a bit. We found a spot pretty close to my dorm called Amsterdam Bar and Billiards, which turned out to be really cool. We rented a pool table for two hours, and thankfully Kevin and I didn’t lose every round. We were close though.

I got to bed later than usual that night and was ready for a relaxing Saturday. I went for a run in the morning, then went out for some shopping. Not too much luck at the usual stores, but I got a few things at Strawberry.

Today my friends and I waited in line for two hours until the box office for Once opened. My ticket cost me only $26 and the show was fantastic! I definitely recommend it if you’re in the mood for a more substance-filled musical. If you’ve seen the movie, then you’ll understand what I’m getting at.

We stuck around a bit for some autographs, then I went back home for an evening run. I can’t even express my love for the trail along the East River. There were families outside with picnics, little leaguers playing baseball, and old men fishing along the railing. Such a relaxing way to end the day. I can’t believe this will be my third week in New York. Where has the time gone?!

Leave a Reply

