Running Forward

Jersey and the Park

on June 18, 2012

This past weekend was one of the best I’ve ever had. Sounds cheesy, but it’s so true. I stayed home Friday night, went for a nice run, and relaxed with a movie. On Saturday I did a quick morning workout, then met some neighbors from home that I’ve known since I was born. We ate at a cute diner called Evergreen where they treated me to a delicious vegetable omelet. I’m thinking I should take my family there when they come because it’s such a typical diner experience.

Afterwards we roamed around Central Park and 5th Avenue for the remainder of the afternoon. I loved getting to hang out with them all day and getting to catch up with my friend, Jack. In fact, here’s a pic of us when we were little. (I hope he doesn’t kill me for this)

Later that evening I met my family at the rifle club for yet another celebration. This time it was my cousin Stephen’s graduation. We ate delicious food and had a wonderful time hanging out with each other. Instead of going back to my dorm I made plans to go home with my cousins so that I could spend Sunday in Jersey. I enjoyed a leisurely breakfast full of fresh fruit, then Richie took me for a trail run at a local park. It was a great course! As soon as we arrived back at the house I hopped in the car with my aunt to pick up all the food. When you’re family is Italian, food is a big deal. Let’s just say we could have fed an entire village with this one meal. I got to make stuffed mushrooms, brie & strawberry jam baked in croissant dough, and a few other items. I miss my kitchen.

Once again I can’t even express my love that I have for my family. They are all so welcoming and warm every single time I see them. How did I get so lucky?

Yankees game tomorrow after work!

Leave a Reply

