Running Forward

Day at the Beach

on July 9, 2012

So I already told you about my action-packed Saturday, which means I was more than ready for a relaxing Sunday. I woke up early (6 am!) to catch the 8:07 train at Penn Station, which brought me to Middletown to meet my cousins. We went back to one of their houses for coffee, then headed out to the beach. By 11:15 am, the blankets were out, the picnic was being nibbled, and I felt like I was on a mini vacation. Later on, another cousin and three friends joined us so we had a small group to hang out with. The water was pretty chilly, so we alternated between laying in the hot sun and dipping ourselves in the refreshing water. It was my first time at a beach in almost 4 years, so I thoroughly savored it.

By 5:30 we were all pretty tired from the sun so we made our way back to one of their houses for a family cookout. I love how every Sunday with the cousins turns into such a family affair. I’m going to miss it when I go back home! We swam in the pool, pigged out, then played some intense games of volleyball. I think I’m improving! I took a late train back, so I didn’t get home until 11 pm. Luckily, I was able to snag a cab right away and practically ran into my bed.

I’m definitely excited for this week because I get to attend something special on Wednesday and my mom is coming on Thursday! Also, my office is having an intern social tomorrow at John’s Pizzeria, so I’m treating myself to a slice. All the walking in the city makes me feel not as guilty about indulging every now and then. I have to enjoy it before heading back to boring old Georgia. But, mark my words, I’m moving here after Christmas!

Leave a Reply

