Running Forward

Alton, Justin, and the Kitchen

on July 24, 2012

My last week is here, but it still hasn’t sunk in yet. Monday flew by because work was a blast. We first celebrated a birthday in our marketing “meeting” with delicious candies and fun conversation. Throughout the day I ended up going up to the kitchen at least 3 times for errands, and I ran into my favorite, Alton Brown. He held the door open for me, so I replied by saying “go dawgs”. I think I caught him off guard, so he burst out laughing when he realized what I had said. Such a cool guy! I also ran into the latest winner of Food Network Star. Let me say, he’s so cute in person! When I get back home I’m definitely going to try out some of his recipes- they’re so unique.

After work I went for my usual run. Today was pretty ordinary at work, but I’m super excited for tomorrow. They’re taking me to lunch at Morimoto since it’s my last week. This restaurant has been on my restaurant bucket list for quite some time now. Hopefully Morimoto will be there to grace us with his presence. I saw him at the studio a few weeks ago, but it’s different when they’re actually at their own restaurant. I’m curious to see what everyone orders.

My dad and brother arrive Thursday to help me pack up and move back home this weekend, so it will be a bittersweet rest of the week. I’ve never gone this long without seeing my dad, so I can’t wait for that, but I’m not ready to go back to school. Luckily this is my last semester, so I won’t be in Athens much longer. I respect the fact that people love that town, but it’s just not for me. The more I experience other places, the more I realize that I’m meant to live somewhere else. Applying for jobs will be scary, but it’s always fun to see what the future brings.

Leave a Reply

