Running Forward

Home

on July 31, 2012

Well, I’m back in Georgia and attempting to conquer my many to-do lists. I arrived home from the airport in the late afternoon and immediately went into the kitchen and go tot work cooking dinner. The produce from our garden is fantastic! During my first full day at home yesterday I cooked from 3 pm to 7:30 pm. I started by making some tomato sauce using the tomatoes from our garden, which I later used for an eggplant parmesan. Then I used my great grandma’s recipe for zucchini for dinner along with citrus ginger tilapia and a cherry tomato salad. Oh, and I also made a tomato pie in the morning for my mom’s office. Today I’m baking some banana bread. Yum!

For the sauce I blanched all the excess tomatoes we had laying around the house. I then peeled of the skin and put them aside while I sauteed onions, garlic, carrots, and celery in a large pot. Once the veggies were tender, I added some white wine until it evaporated. Next, I added the tomatoes, herbs, and a pinch of sugar. The mixture cooked down for several hours, which made it so sweet. I can’t wait to try it in the eggplant parmesan tonight. I’ll post the picture in my next post.

My great grandma’s zucchini starts with some finely sliced onions and garlic being caramelized. Ten I add thinly sliced zucchini and let it cook down. Later I add the spices chopped tomatoes, tomato paste, and eggs. You can also add a little cheese in the end too.

 

For the tilapia, I simply layered some orange and lemon slices on the bottom, then laid the fish on top. I sprinkled it with salt oregano, pepper, and a mixed spice grinder. For moisture I added ginger miso dressing, lemon juice, and soy sauce. Lastly, I used the remaining slices to top the fish. I covered the pan in foil and baked on 350 for about 25 minutes.

 

For the cherry tomatoes I simply sliced them in half, added salt, pepper, basil, and balsamic vinegar. Garden tomatoes are the best.

 

Leave a Reply

