Running Forward

Catching up in the Kitchen

on August 2, 2012

My last few days at home have consisted of a lot of time in the kitchen. The eggplant parm from earlier this week was fantastic! I completely forgot to take a picture, but it pretty much looked the same as others that I’ve made. The sauce was so sweet since I used tomatoes from the garden instead of canned ones. I also made a loaf of banana bread on the same day.

Last night’s dinner consisted of hot dogs (veggie dogs for me), potato salad, coleslaw, and watermelon salad. Summer sides are the best! Here’s the potato salad recipe:

4 baking potatoes

plain nonfat Greek yogurt

yellow mustard

white vinegar

salt

pepper

dill

dill relish

dill pickles (chopped)

two hard boiled eggs

Start by peeling and cutting the potatoes into fairly large, even pieces. Then boil in salted water until tender enough to be pierced by a fork. Boil the eggs at the same time, then allow both to completely cool before adding the other ingredients. I never follow recipes, so I just combined everything to taste. Using yogurt instead of mayo makes it so much healthier and is just as tasty.

 

Here’s the watermelon recipe:

Chopped watermelon

fresh mint

lemongrass mint balsamic vinegar

regular balsamic vinegar

minced ginger

salt

Once again, I just added ingredients as needed. Turned out very tasty. In fact, later this week we’re going to create it again then puree it for a great cocktail. Not sure what I’ll be making today, but I’ll be sure to post about it.

Leave a Reply

