Running Forward

The Attack

on August 9, 2012

I’m being dramatic with the title, but the kitchen drawer really did attack me with a knife the other day. Let me rewind for a minute: my plan for this week changed quite a bit. Originally, I was going to drive back to school on Tuesday, but I ended up having to get some stitches in my finger on Monday, which meant I didn’t have time to pack anything. I’m posting a pic because it was my first time getting stitches, so I feel like it was a big moment. 😉

 

Also, I never wrote a new post like I promised. Here’s the peach meringue pie:

The family agreed that it was okay the first night, but awesome the next day. It’s definitely one of those dishes that needs some time to hang out in the fridge. I also used up  a ton of our garden tomatoes to make a homemade sauce for a vegetable lasagna-type dish. I completely forgot to take a picture, but it was tasty. I used the same method as my eggplant parmesan, but added in layers of zucchini and portobello mushrooms. Here are some shots I took right before slicing my finger:

  I finally packed up my life (again!) and made it to Athens today. My amazing dad made the trek with me and helped me get everything organized and put in place. I love the new apartment! So clean and organized- just my style! For lunch we stopped at the Grit where I ordered the vegetable gumbo and he got the tofu Rueben. The gumbo had just the right amount of spice and I especially loved the pieces of okra. My dad loved his sandwich too. I’m glad my parents are fairly adventurous when it comes to food. Now I’m all settled in, but my alarm is set for 4:30 am. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

