Running Forward

Zucchini Linguine

on August 26, 2012

Happy Sunday! This weekend was full of wonderful friends and crazy car troubles. I ran 7 miles with Lesley first thing Saturday morning, ran errands with Jean, had adventures around town with Shannon, and finally got to catch up with Ryan. Last night I simply put together a hummus plate for dinner, but felt like getting more creative today. I keep seeing recipes for zucchini noodles, so I finally gave it a go. I started by making the sauce first. I thinly sliced half an onion and let it cook low and slow. Once translucent, I added a can of diced tomatoes, spices, balsamic vinegar, and spicy mustard! New addition, but tasted great! The sauce simmered while I packed my lunch for the next day and cleaned up around the apartment. Finally, I used a peeler to make ribbons from the zucchini. However, I did make a few matchstick pieces which you can see in the picture. The ribbons were better though. When it came time to sit down and eat, I simply mixed the zucchini in with the sauce and allowed it to soften for a bit over the stove. I added a bit of protein at the end by crumbling up some tofu to act as “cheese”. I’ve been in such a tofu mood lately. Here’s the finished product! I will without a doubt make this dish again.

 

Leave a Reply

