Running Forward

A Taste of Atlanta

on October 7, 2012

Saturday turned out to be a blast and completely wore me out. I could barely hold my eyes open to watch the UGA game, which turned out to be pretty embarrassing. Hopefully, they can pull themselves together for the next game. Anyway, let’s back up a bit. I woke up at 5:45 am to complete the 11.5 mile group training run for the Athens half, which is in two weeks! Since my training has been so sparse this semester I was definitely worried. Luckily, Christian came with me and we also met some nice runners along the way. I even fist-bumped one of my favorite professors a few times! I quickly headed home to eat breakfast and shower before going to the Taste of Atlanta with Colleen. I didn’t really know what to expect since I don’t go to Atlanta often, and the only other Taste events I’ve ever been to were in Chicago and Alpharetta. I must say, the Atlanta restaurants in attendance were great! Colleen and I were satisfied with all of our samples and felt like we tasted a lot for the amount of tickets we bought.

I started with the roasted beet salad with local goat cheese from The Shed.

Next, I finally got the opportunity to try Ethiopian food. I wish there were more Ethiopian restaurants near me, but I guess I’ll have to wait until I make it back up to NYC. Anyway, my veggie plate from Desta was delicious, and consisted of chickpea stew and split pea stew served with Injera.

I got a mini bananas foster pancake from Another Broken Egg Cafe. Putting bananas in pancake batter is one of the best things ever.

Colleen and I were both eyeing a Pecan Bourbon creme brulee with sweet potato mousse and pecan crumble from Eleven, but decided against it  at the last minute. However, she got a slider from the same restaurant so the chef gave us one for free. It was good, but had too much of a sweet potato after-taste and was missing the burnt sugar topping typical of creme brulee.

Colleen and I needed a break from food, so we strolled around a bit to explore everything. That’s when I found Jenna from Eat Live Run! So cool to meet her, and Colleen and I were pretty much in love with her outfit. Such a cute dress!

My second to last sample was a shrimp ceviche with mango and jicama from Mi Cocina.

 Lastly, I got a mini scoop of Pumpkin Spice Caramel Pecan Ice Cream from Morelli’s. I never eat ice cream, so this was the perfect treat to end the day with. And, you have to take advantage of fall flavors while they’re still here.

Overall, I had an amazing Saturday! I would recommend The Taste of Atlanta to anyone because of how affordable it was and the large variety of restaurants that participated. Great idea, Colleen!

Leave a Reply

