Running Forward

Single Girl Eggplant Parm

on November 3, 2012

The week flew by because I had so much to do, so I wanted to relax Friday with a little cooking. I love my healthy eggplant parmesan, but had not made it in quite a while so that was the dinner of choice. And, I have leftover eggplant that I can use up this week! Always a bonus. I started by making the sauce by sautéing some onions, adding seasonings, then mixing in a can of diced tomatoes. The key is to let it simmer for at least half an hour. While the sauce cooked, I sliced the eggplant and baked it in a 400 degree oven until cooked through. I ended up flipping them over halfway through, which ended up being about 15 minutes on each side. Lastly, I created the “cheese” layer by mixing plain nonfat yogurt with an egg white. Then I got busy layering it all together. I let the entire dish bake for about 25 minutes in a 350 degree oven. So tasty!

Leave a Reply

