Running Forward

Crispy Orange White Chocolate Bark

on November 20, 2012

Long title, but delicious results! Thanksgiving break has been super busy so far. Luckily, I got to veg out on Friday night before I started working at AG again. I love making desserts all day, but it can be so tiring. Especially when I have a busy next few months ahead of me. I feel like I’m in stress mode all the time lately. Ah, the future is scary. Anyway, back to my cooking.

On Saturday I baked banana bread for my grandma. As always, the batter tasted delicious. On Sunday I made pumpkin biscotti using this recipe, but adding shaved white chocolate and toasted pecans to the batter instead of pepitas. I also skipped the dipping in chocolate step. I’ll post final result pictures closer to Thanksgiving when they’ll be served.

I went from an early doctor appointment to work on Monday, so I didn’t have much time to really cook. I did make dinner, though, which consisted of a huge chopped salad. After I got off work today I made the crispy orange white chocolate bark. Here’s the recipe:

 

1 bag (around 12 oz.) white chocolate

1 tsp. orange extract

1 cup rice krispie cereal

1/2 cup golden raisins

orange food coloring

 

Start by creating a double broiler and bringing the water up to a gentle simmer. Melt the chocolate and orange extract in the bowl above the simmering water. Take off the heat as soon as the chocolate is smooth. Spoon out a small quantity of the chocolate into a smaller bowl and add orange food coloring. Then, add the cereal and raisins to the original chocolate bowl and stir until everything is well incorporated. Spread the mixture out onto a piece of parchment paper. Lastly, drizzle the orange-dyed chocolate over the white chocolate. This bark is delicious and is very different from the usual peppermint bark that often serves as a holiday staple at parties.

Tomorrow I’m gearing up for more cooking and a trip to the race expo with my longtime friend, Jack. I can’t wait to earn my turkey with him on Thursday!

Leave a Reply

