Running Forward

Baked Ziti

on December 18, 2012

When planning the food for my shindig on Sunday we considered a few different options. We talked about catering a few dishes, but could not settle on a restaurant. Finally, two nights before the party, I convinced my mom that I could make some sort of pasta dish that would feed everyone. Luckily, we already planned out plenty of side dishes and other appetizers for people to munch on. Since I made lasagna for my family the previous week, baked ziti seemed like a good option. Basically, it’s the same technique as lasagna, but includes ziti pasta instead of lasagna sheets.

On Saturday I got to work making two trays with sausage and two trays that were vegetarian. First, I spread tomato sauce on the bottom of the pans. Next, layer the ziti and top with a mixture of ricotta, egg, and Italian herbs. Spread the cheese mixture evenly and add sauteed onions or sausage (depending on whether you want meat or not). Simply continuing alternating layers until the tray is full. Lastly, top it all off with some meltable cheese, such as mozzarella, asiago, and parmesan. I covered the trays with foil and baked them for about 45 minutes on 350, or until heated through. For the last few minutes of cooking, take off the foil and turn up the heat so that the cheese will bubble and brown. Enjoy!

One response to “Baked Ziti

  1. feesbites says:

    I always make baked ziti for huge events as well 🙂 it is always a hit!

Leave a Reply

