Running Forward

Chicken Cacciatore

on January 8, 2013

Being Italian, my idea of comfort food is a hearty, red tomato sauce. Noodles not even required. However, my family would not be happy if I simply served sauce for dinner, so I created one of my favorite dishes in order to satisfy my craving. Chicken cacciatore! Half the fun of the dish is in saying the name. Here’s how you actually create it:

FYI, the photo is not mine. I once again forgot to take a photo. Plus, it was already dark outside, which makes for unflattering lighting.

Start by cutting two chicken breasts in half (like a full butterfly cut) in order for the meat to be very thin. Season each side with salt, pepper, oregano, and basil then sear in a large pan. Once the first side begins to brown, flip it over and remove the chicken just before it cooks through.

Add onions to the pan and let cook, then add minced garlic, sliced green bell peppers, and sliced mushrooms. I always add my usual salt, pepper, oregano, and basil while cooking veggies for an Italian dish. Once the veggies are almost cooked through, add two cans of diced tomatoes, a splash of white wine, and a splash of balsamic vinegar. Now, just let it all cook to allow the flavors to meld together. Just before you’re ready to serve, pop the chicken back into the pan and make sure it gets covered in the sauce. Serve as soon as the chicken is cooked through.

I served it with spaghetti for the family, but I had a new product I wanted to try. At Whole Foods I stumbled upon these angel hair noodles. Only 40 calories for the whole bag! The verdict: delicious, and just like delicate pasta! Without a doubt I’ll be buying these again.

Leave a Reply

