Running Forward

Mini Chickens

on January 24, 2013

I didn’t have much time before work the other day, so I quickly checked to see if there were any dinner possibilities in the freezer just waiting to be unthawed and brought into the spotlight. As soon as I opened the door, two cute little Cornish Hens greeted me while practically begging to be roasted. I grabbed the couple and left them to thaw as I spent the day making desserts at the restaurant.

Let’s fast forward to 4:30 pm when I got off work: Since my parents and brother can all eat an entire Cornish hen by themselves, I stopped by the store to see if I could pick up another one. Unfortunately, everything available was frozen solid, and there was no time to thaw it out. Luckily, I found out my brother wasn’t going to be home for dinner, and I wasn’t in the mood for chicken anyway. Problem solved. Here’s how you make Cornish hens.

  • Preheat the oven to 350 F while preparing the hens. 
  • Rinse the hens and place them on top of orange slices inside some sort of roasting pan.
  • Next, I stuck an orange slice under the skin of each one and seasoned with my favorite spices. I also poured some Asian Ginger Vinaigrette over the birds to keep them moist.
  • Before placing in the oven, cover with a layer of foil. Bake for about 45 minutes, then remove foil. Check to see if the birds are cooked through. If not, leave in the oven until complete.

That’s it! I stuck them in the oven, went for a run, and came home to the homey scent of roasted chicken. I also roasted vegetables (sweet potato, Korean yam, mushrooms, red bell pepper, onion, and eggplant) in the second oven as a side dish. Instead of eating a Cornish hen, I made a mini frittata and loved it! Recipe to be posted soon.

Hopefully, you’re ready to conquer Cornish hens now!

Image

Leave a Reply

