Running Forward

Bring it on!

on February 23, 2013

My life has changed so much this past month that I’m becoming immune to new things. Not really, but let’s just go with it, okay? So, after finally getting into a good routine I find an apartment in Hoboken where I can stay until June. Woo! I know it’s only three months, but it gives me plenty of time to become acquainted with the area and to look for a more permanent situation. So, tomorrow my cousin and I are packing up a car and moving some stuff in. Next weekend I’ll actually move myself in. Perhaps the biggest perk of my move: not having a two hour commute anymore! The morning commute isn’t that bad since it’s peaceful and I’m a morning person, but the afternoon is a killer. I leave the office at 5:30 pm and get home anywhere between 7:15 and 7:45 pm, depending on which train I can catch. At least I finally started using the gym at work this past week, so I was able to just come home and crash. My new commute will only be around 30 minutes each way, so I’m pretty psyched to say the least.

   Now, allow me to tell you about my morning commute yesterday! It sounds crazy, but was actually pretty fun. I hopped onto my usual 7:12 am train headed to Secaucus Junction just like I do every day. But, a few stops later the conductor announced that it was now a “local” and would be making every single stop along the way. Nooooo!!!!!!! My office only offers one shuttle from Secaucus in the morning and it leaves at 8:20 sharp. I immediately called the driver and asked how  long he could wait, but he told me to stay on the train and catch the shuttle at Penn Station. Go to the city?! No problem! So, I stayed on the train and hopped off when it reached Penn Station. At this point it was already close to 9 am, the time I’m normally in the office getting my first cup of coffee. So, I wait outside for the shuttle and realize how much I love the city. It’s chaotic, it’s loud, and there’s always a homeless man yelling obscenities in the background, but it’s for me. I easily found the shuttle and joined my coworkers for the remainder of my commute. The traffic was horrendous, though, so we didn’t get into the office until 10 am! At least my boss was out of town, so I didn’t have too much to work on. But, what a morning! 

One response to “Bring it on!

  1. Christian says:

    Miss you! Glad you’re having a great time 🙂

Leave a Reply

