Running Forward

Cream Cheese Pound Cake

on March 7, 2013

For a few weeks straight my aunt repeatedly told my cousins and I how much she wanted a cream cheese pound cake just like the one she used to get in Vermont, so I finally took on the task and got to baking. I found a Martha Stewart recipe that required ingredients we had on hand and it turned out delicious! Everyone enjoyed it, and I discovered that the following Monday was National Pound Cake Day. I guess it was meant to be. 

Cream Cheese Pound Cake

*makes one loaf

1.5 sticks of butter

4 oz. cream cheese

1.5 cups sugar

3 large eggs

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1.5 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp. salt

Nonstick cooking spray

Preheat the oven to 350. Beat the cream cheese and butter until smooth, then add the sugar and continue beating until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, until well incorporated then add the vanilla. Lastly, add the flour and salt and stir until just combined. Pour into a well-sprayed loaf pan and bake for about 60 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. It’s delicious alone, but play around with toppings. One of my favorite things to do with pound cake is grill a slice in the summer or quickly brown in a pan. Top with some strawberries and I’m good to go! 

Image

In other news, I’m in Hoboken and am loving it! One of my cousins crashed at my place last night and we had a great time. First we met a friend of mine for a delicious sushi dinner at Illuzion. The fish was so fresh! Then we wandered around a bit on the way back to my apartment. Just before I was about to put on my PJs, some of his friends texted for us to come visit their place, so we headed back out into the snowy weather. On the way there I found this awesome rooster shelf:

Image

I couldn’t resist! It’s incredible! His friends were great and the night was a success! 

Leave a Reply

