Running Forward

Cancelled Plans

on April 13, 2013

Last weekend (my birthday weekend) was so much fun that it made returning to reality extremely difficult on Monday. Needless to say, I struggled. Luckily, the weather was beautiful on Monday and Tuesday (in the 70s!) so I managed to stay happy. Originally, I was supposed to have softball practice on Thursday and kickboxing on Friday, but both ended up being cancelled due to different reasons. So, this week I spent my after-work time relaxing and cooking, some of my favorite activities. In an attempt to provide some more variety in my routine I experimented with poached eggs. I’d never tried one before, so I went a bit cautious on my first try and ended up over-cooking it a bit. It still tasted great, but didn’t have that amazing saucy center that you hear people rave about. So, the next night I made my favorite stir fry with miso sauce and poached an egg to sit atop. It turned out perfectly! Delicious! I’m a fan now for sure. 

Image

Luckily, I was able to make some plans for Saturday so I started my day with a nice run along the river. I swear I’ll never get tired of this view. 

Image

After showering and getting everything organized I took the train into the city and began my day with some Chinatown exploring. I bought chopsticks, grapes (2 pounds for $1.50!), Agar Agar (for fun cooking experiments in the future), Asian bakery treats (angel cake and a melon paste pastry). Take a look at these beautiful dragon fruits! 

Image

Afterwards I walked to Tribeca to meet a friend for brunch at Kitchenette. Such a cute place! I ordered the Albuquerque, grilled polenta topped with eggs, jack cheese, and corn salsa. I ended up getting egg whites instead of regular eggs and I nixed the cheese. It also came with a side salad. I didn’t take a picture, but it was delicious! 

Before hopping back onto the Path for Hoboken I took the subway to Union Square to browse the farmers market. The spring produce isn’t nearly as exciting as summer produce, so I only bought an onion and kohlrabi. I also stopped by Trader Joe’s for a few things before heading back home. A fun-filled day in my favorite city! And check out these regal-looking buildings in Tribeca. There was some sort of ceremony going on in front of one of them, but I had no idea what it was. 

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

