Running Forward

China and Peru

on April 21, 2013

This weekend was filled with fun and good food. I kicked off by going trying a new kickboxing studio with a Groupon I bought a while back. The class was an hour long and really got my heart pumping. It was even more intense than the last place I tried out! After class ended I headed home to relax and unwind.

On Saturday I went to the morning kickboxing class then made one of the best lunches I’ve had in a while. More about that later, though. Later in the afternoon I met a friend in Chinatown to explore and give her a tour of the area. She had never been and was a bit wary of the restaurants, so we started off slow by visiting my favorite bakery- Lung Moon on Mulberry. We each bought angel cakes, which are so light and airy.

After our bakery visit we strolled and did some shopping. I found some new Asian markets that I will definitely be visiting again. I left with the following: 2 pounds of grapes for $2, a pound of green beans for $1, a pound of broccoli for $1, and a pack of seaweed for soup-making. I also found an awesome arrow bracelet for $5! I love haggling with the shop owners.

Since Lauren had never been to Little Italy either, we did a quick walk-through and visited some of the oldest shops and stopped at Ferrera for a peek of the Italian cookies. It was great getting to explore more of NYC with a friend. Here’s are a few of my pics; a tea shop and some giant Pocky and Panda cookies.

 

4.20.133

 

4.20.131

On Sunday I woke up so incredibly sore. I guess my two kickboxing classes caught up with me. Originally, I planned on going for a short run, but since I have another kickboxing class on Monday I decided to let myself rest, especially since I planned on walking through the city again. I had lunch plans around noon, so I decided to go ahead and do my grocery shopping nice and early before the crowds hit ShopRite. Fo lunch I met a friend at Pio Pio Riko in Chelsea, a delicious Peruvian restaurant. The inside is cute, clean, and very friendly. As soon as you walk in the door they treat you to a sample of a purple corn drink that reminded us of Christmas due to notes of cinnamon. We both quickly decided to order ceviche, but wanted to be adventurous by trying the veal heart appetizer. The meat was a bit tough, but tasted very meaty just like a steak.

Pio Pio Riko- Veal Hearts

Pio Pio Riko- Ceviche

Next came the ceviche! I ordered the ceviche mixto, which contained fish, shrimp, calamari, and octopus all marinated in leche de tigre. The portion was a good size and came with the traditional boiled potato, sweet potato, and Peruvian corn. So good! Pio Pio Riko is my new favorite ceviche place.

After lunch the two of us explored Chelsea a bit and enjoyed the beautiful weather. Overall, it was a great weekend!

One response to “China and Peru

Leave a Reply

