Running Forward

Zucchini Noodles- Italian Style

on April 23, 2013

Without a doubt I’m now on a zucchini kick, which is making me super pumped for when they begin showing up at the Union Square Farmers Market. I made some Asian zucchini noodles for my work lunch Monday and put together an Italian version for dinner tonight. The lighting isn’t beautiful, but it tasted freaking amazing!!! I could have eaten like 10 bowls, no joke. AND it was super simple- I prepared it while making tomorrow’s lunch and breakfast.

Zucchini Pasta

Start by sauteeing half a chopped onion with a bit of salt in a small saucepan. Once the onion is translucent (try not to let it brown) add a small can of plain tomato sauce. At this point you can add your favorite seasonings. I used oregano, garlic powder, a twist of pepper, and a small splash of balsamic vinegar. Now comes the hard part- let it cook for a while. The longer it simmers on the stove the more the flavors meld together and become less “sharp”. While the sauce simmered away, I sent the zucchini through my spiralizer and sliced some baby bella mushrooms. I let the zucchini chill in my serving while I tossed the mushrooms in high heat just long enough for them to get some color. Once the sauce was ready I simply added it to the zucchini and mushrooms and tossed it all together. At the end I added a sprinkle of nutritional yeast for some vitamin B action. By far one of the best dinners I’ve made in quite a while. I might even repeat this meal tomorrow for dinner. No shame.

Leave a Reply

