Running Forward

A Day at Yale

on July 4, 2013

The ultimate point of my family’s visit to NYC was for my brother to attend Yale’s football recruitment camp. So, on Saturday morning we woke up at 4:20 am (after going to bed at 12:30 am) and walked to Grand Central to catch the 5:35 am train to New Haven, CT. Apparently no one on campus cares for football because it was impossible to find anyone who knew where the stadium was. Luckily, we finally found it and stayed to watch my brother for the morning. At lunchtime we parted ways with my brother and found a place for lunch in the downtown area. We plopped ourselves in a small park and devoured our grub.

Image

Image

ImageImage

We spent the afternoon exploring the campus and buying swag from the bookstore. I freaking loved the school! I really wish I had explored more college opportunities- I would have been way happier there than I was at UGA. Anyway, brother got out of camp around 5 pm, so we took the train back into the city and got a bit delirious on the train due to lack of sleep.

Once we got back into the city we stopped at a Red Flame Diner and pigged out. I ordered a delicious egg white omelet with mushrooms and steamed broccoli on the side. There’s just something about diners and omelets that go so perfectly together. Once again, it was a late night, but at least the next morning contained only one item on the agenda.

I woke up pretty early on Sunday, went running, and grabbed bagels to bring to everyone at the hotel. My dad’s best friend from college is a fireman and invited us to ride the fire department’s boat again (he first took us for a ride last summer and it was amazing!). He picked us up at 10 am and drove us to Brooklyn where we hopped onto the boat. Seeing my city from the water makes me love it even more. It’s magnificent to admire the chaos from the outside. Every time I think about all the powerful people and influential companies contained with the island, my mind gets boggled. Hopefully I’ll be one of those people someday.

6.30.1302

6.30.1304

6.30.1305

6.30.1309

6.30.1314

6.30.1320

 

Danny dropped us off at Union Square after the ride and we claimed a spot to watch the Gay Pride Parade.

6.30.1327 6.30.1329 6.30.1332 6.30.1333

It was pretty hot outside and we were all incredibly tired, so we left before it ended. What a whirlwind of a weekend, but it was a blast. Now I’m back in Atlanta for the fourth of July and ready to relax.

One response to “A Day at Yale

  1. I have only ever seen Yale on Gilmore Girls haha. Too cool!

Leave a Reply

